Little Dragon

Little Dragon are a Swedish electronic music band from Gothenburg, formed in 1996. The band consists of Yukimi Nagano (vocals, percussion), Erik Bodin (drums), Fredrik Källgren Wallin (bass) and Håkan Wirenstrand (keyboards).

Little Dragon’s first release was the double A-side 7″ single “Twice”/”Test”, released on the Off the Wall label in 2006. The following year, the band signed with the larger British independent label Peacefrog Records and released their eponymous debut album in August 2007. Their second album, Machine Dreams, was released in August 2009, followed by their third album, Ritual Union, released in July 2011. The band’s fourth studio album, Nabuma Rubberband, was released in May 2014 by Because Music.

Little Dragon
Little Dragon Red Wall Snap.jpg

Little Dragon in 2010. From left to right: Erik Bodin, Yukimi Nagano, Fredrik Källgren Wallin, Håkan Wirenstrand
Background information
Origin Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Trip hop
  • downtempo
  • synthpop[1]
  • indietronica
  • dream pop
  • neo soul
Years active 1996–present
  • Off the Wall
  • Peacefrog
  • JVC Victor
  • Because
  • Loma Vista
  • Republic
Associated acts
  • Gorillaz
  • Yukimi Nagano
  • Erik Bodin
  • Fredrik Källgren Wallin
  • Håkan Wirenstrand


Little Dragon formed in 1996 in Gothenburg, Sweden. Yukimi Nagano was in her first year in high school when she met seniors Fredrik Wallin and Erik Bodin. The three of them would meet up after school to jam and play records by De La Soul, A Tribe Called Quest and Alice Coltrane. The band’s name was inspired by the “Little Dragon” nickname Nagano earned due to the “fuming tantrums” she used to throw while recording in the studio. “It’s a little exaggerated but there is some truth in it”, Nagano said. “But we’ve grown up a bit and I realised you can’t have a fit every day because otherwise you won’t be able to stand each other.”

Little Dragon has toured throughout Europe and has also made music videos for the songs “Test”, “Twice”, “Constant Surprises”, “After the Rain” and “Fortune”. The video for “Twice” was directed by award-winning Swedish filmmaker Johannes Nyholm. The double A-side single “Fortune”/”Blinking Pigs” was released in the UK on 26 January 2009. The band’s song “Twice” has been featured in the television shows Grey’s Anatomy, 90210, Revenge, The Vampire Diaries, and Being Mary Jane, as well as in the 2010 independent drama film I Will Follow (which also features the band’s song “Scribbled Paper”) and the 2013 psychological thriller film Magic Magic.

Little Dragon was chosen as one of Beyond Race Magazine’s “50 Emerging Artists” in late 2009, resulting in a spot in the publication’s eleventh issue as well as an exclusive online Q&A on the magazine’s site.

On the recommendation of his wife, Damon Albarn invited Nagano and her bandmates to feature on Gorillaz’s 2010 album Plastic Beach, appearing on the tracks “Empire Ants” and “To Binge”. Albarn then asked Little Dragon to join Gorillaz on their Escape to Plastic Beach Tour.

In September 2011, former keyboardist Arild Werling rejoined the group on support keys during live performances.

In February 2014, it was announced that Little Dragon’s fourth studio album, Nabuma Rubberband, would be released on 12 May in the United Kingdom via Because Music and on 13 May in the United States via Loma Vista Recordings. The album was inspired by “Janet Jackson slow jams”. “Klapp Klapp” was released as the album’s lead single. The second single, “Paris”, debuted on Zane Lowe’s BBC Radio 1 programme on 8 April 2014.


  • Yukimi Nagano – vocals, percussion
  • Fredrik Källgren Wallin – bass guitar
  • Håkan Wirenstrand – keyboards
  • Erik Bodin – drums
  • Arild Werling – keyboards (live only)


Studio albums

  • Little Dragon (2007)
  • Machine Dreams (2009)
  • Ritual Union (2011)
  • Nabuma Rubberband (2014)

Compilations albums

  • Best Of (2014)

Extended plays

  • Twice Remix (2008)
  • Blinking Pigs (2010)
  • Amazon Artist Lounge (2014)


Title Year Album
“Test”/”4ever” 2006 Little Dragon
“Twice”/”Test” 2007
“Constant Surprises”/”Scribbled Paper”
“Recommendation” 2008
“Fortune”/”Blinking Pigs” 2009 Machine Dreams
“My Step”
“Runabout” 2010
“Nightlight” 2011 Ritual Union
“Ritual Union”
“Little Man”
“Sunshine” 2012 N/A
“Klapp Klapp” 2014 Nabuma Rubberband
“Let Go”

As featured artist

Title Year Album
(SBTRKT featuring Little Dragon)
“Scale It Back”
(DJ Shadow featuring Little Dragon)
The Less You Know, the Better

Other appearances

Title Year Album
“If You Return” (Maximum Balloon featuring Little Dragon) 2010 Maximum Balloon
“Thom Pettie” (Big Boi featuring Little Dragon and Killer Mike) 2012 Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors
“Descending” (Big Boi featuring Little Dragon)
“Higher Res” (Big Boi featuring Jai Paul and Little Dragon)

Music videos

Title Year Director
“Twice” 2007 Johannes Nyholm
“Constant Surprises” 2008 Fredrik Egerstrand
“After the Rain” François Vogel
“Swimming” 2009 Yusuke Nagano
“Looking Glass”
“Never Never” 2010 Ulla Tomtom
“My Step” 2011 Matthew Scheuerer
“Brush the Heat” Yusuke Nagano
“Brush the Heat” (AVA remix) Eleanor Brown
“Crystalfilm” 2012 Daniel Wirtberg
“Sunshine” Dave Ma
“Klapp Klapp” 2014 Taylor Cohen
“Paris” Trevor Kane
“Pretty Girls” Nabil