The Greatest Video Game Music by the London Philharmonic Orchestra

The Greatest Video Game Music, performed by the London Philharmonic Orchestra, features classical orchestrations of video game themes including those from Super Mario Bros., Call of Duty, Metal Gear Solid, Final Fantasy, Halo, World of Warcraft, Angry Birds and many more.

Greatest Video Game Music
Compilation album by London Philharmonic
Released 2011
Genre Classical, Popular Music
Label X5 Music Group
Producer Andrew Skeet
London Philharmonic chronology
The Greatest Video Game Music
The Greatest Video Game Music 2


It was named Rolling Stone’s “weirdest hit album” of 2011, and debuted at #23 on the Billboard 200 – the highest debut for an orchestral release since 2005’s Star Wars Episode III soundtrack.

Angry Birds’ composer Ari Pulkkinen said, “This is the first orchestral version of one of my compositions and it really comes alive. It has such a great depth and a majestic touch, and it was very emotional for me when I heard it the first time. I love it!”

A sequel, The Greatest Video Game Music 2 was released a year later.

Track listing

  1. Advent Rising: Muse
  2. Legend of Zelda: Suite
  3. Call of Duty – Modern Warfare 2: Theme
  4. Angry Birds: Main Theme
  5. Final Fantasy VIII: Liberi Fatali
  6. Super Mario Bros: Themes
  7. Uncharted – Drake’s Fortune: Nate’s Theme
  8. Grand Theft Auto IV: Soviet Connection
  9. World of Warcraft: Seasons of War
  10. Metal Gear Solid: Sons of Liberty Theme
  11. Tetris Theme
  12. Battlefield 2: Theme
  13. Elder Scrolls: Oblivion
  14. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare: Main Menu Theme
  15. Mass Effect: Suicide Mission
  16. Splinter Cell: Conviction
  17. Final Fantasy: Main Theme
  18. Bioshock: The Ocean on his Shoulders
  19. Halo 3: One Final Effort
  20. Fallout 3: Theme
  21. Super Mario Galaxy: Gusty Garden Galaxy
  22. Dead Space: Welcome Aboard the U.S.G. Ishimura (Amazon Exclusive)
  23. Final Fantasy XIII: Hanging Edge (iTunes Exclusive)