Twelve Foot Ninja

Twelve Foot Ninja is a progressive rock band formed in 2008 in Melbourne, Victoria. The band consists of Kin (Vocals), Russ (Drums), Stevic (Guitar) Damon (Bass) and Rohan (Guitar).

In August 2012, the band announced ‘PROJECT 12’ – a 12 week campaign leading up to the release of their debut album “Silent Machine”. With ‘PROJECT 12’, they’re releasing 12 x digital tracks along with 12 x digital comics each week for 12 weeks until their album in released on Nov, 2012. The album’s first official single ‘Mother Sky’ was released on Aug 24, and the video was premiered on Triple J’s Home & Hosed blog.

Each song from the debut album comes with a comic, created by Keith Draws (UK), inspired by the lyrics and based on the original fable of Twelve Foot Ninja (co-written by Steve “Stevic” Mackay) The story follows a sole ninja’s mission to restore balance in a world headed toward a self-inflicted apocalypse

Prior to the launch of their debut album campaign, the band had released 2 EPs. The first, New Dawn, resulted in the band earning a Triple J Unearthed Number 1 with the track ‘Dark Passenger’, sold out headline shows, and an appearance at Sydney’s Come Together Festival. Their second EP, Smoke Bomb, was released in November 2010. Produced by the band’s guitarist Steve “Stevic” Mackay in his Melbourne home studio, the EP was mixed by respected local producer/engineer Hadyn Buxton (Trial Kennedy, Jonesez, Blueline Medic, Dukes of Windsor, Felix Riebl) and mastered by Howie Weinberg(Deftones, Nirvana, Jeff Buckley) at Masterdisk, New York. Guest musicians on the release include Bär McKinnon (Mr.Bungle) on Saxophone and Ollie McGill (Cat Empire) on Keyboards.


Achievements and debut EP (2008-2009)

  • Release of their debut EP ‘NEW DAWN’
  • Tour support with Mammal
  • Independently sold 2,000 copies of debut EP ‘New Dawn’ via gigs & website
  • At both Rock The Bay & Showdown Festivals in 2009, sold twice as much merchandise as the next highest selling band
  • Booked by Premier Artist Agency & Managed by Dave MacGregor (Macsta Music)
  • Fans get Twelve Foot Ninja’s logo tattooed on their bodies
  • 3 tracks in the Top 5 on the overall Triple J Unearthed Chart in June 2009, with ‘Dark Passenger’ holding the #1 position for two consecutive weeks
  • 5 consecutive nights as champions of Triple M’s ‘Battle of the Unsigned Bands’ – with ‘Molotov Brother’ gaining Triple M airplay in Sydney & Melbourne
  • Tracks ‘Beneath The Smiles’ & ‘Molotov Brother’ finalists in the 2009/2010 Musicoz Awards – Alternative Category.

Smoke Bomb EP (2010)

  • Most recent YouTube video attracted 10,000+ views in its first week
  • 3000 fans on Facebook
  • Twelve Foot Ninja featured in Surfing Life DVD and magazine (reaching over 100,000)

Festival appearances

  • Come Together Festival 2010
  • Pyramid Rock Festival ’08/’09
  • Blueprint Festival ’09
  • Progfest 2011
  • Showdown Festival ’09 & ‘10
  • Rock The Bay Festival ’09 & ’10
  • Mooney Valley Youth Festival ’09


  • 20-date Australian ‘Sleepwalker Tour’ with Dead Letter Circus (AUS) & Fair To Midland (US) – May/June 2012
  • Supported Periphery & Tesseract – 2011
  • Plus interstate tours with Jericco, Circles, A Thousand Needles In Red, Mammal, Behind Crimson Eyes & Breaking Orbit.



  • Silent Machine (2012)


  • New Dawn (2008)
  • Smoke Bomb (2010)


  • Dark Passenger (2009)
  • Clarion (2010)
  • Mother Sky (2012)
  • Coming For you (2012)